Designing a tech career roadmap

Designing a tech career roadmap

FEATURING EXPLICIT TEACHINGS AND APPRECIATED IDEAS ON DESIGNING A TECH CAREER ROADMAP, AS PRESENTED BY A TECH CAREER PROFESSIONAL

Are you a little lost and anxious about transiting into the tech career??? Think about beginning with a roadmap as this will help you focus on your goal.

This article will feature tips and teachings as well as appreciated ideas on designing a Tech Career Roadmap, as presented in a video by Yewande Odumosu.

UNDERSTANDING WHAT A ROADMAP IS

Roadmap.jpg

A roadmap is a tactical plan that expresses an anticipated outcome or goal and comprises of the foremost steps or milestones needed to reach it. It also aids as a communication tool, a sophisticated document that helps articulate strategic thinking—the why—behind both the goal and the plan for getting there (ProductPlan 2022).

EVALUATING WHERE I AM NOW

  1. Am I in the middle of my career?
  2. Am I starting my Tech career or am I trying to advance?
  3. Who am I? A graduate?
  4. Do I have up to 2 years business experience?
  5. Have I run a business before?

Evaluating me.jpg

You need to understand yourself which could take like a long journey, but you need to start; and the questions will help you do so.

WHO DO PEOPLE SAY I AM?

Questioning look.jpg

Do people say of me, that:

  1. I am a good talker?
  2. I am a good writter?
  3. I know how to organise people.
  4. I know how to manage events.

Get what family and friends say am good at, then I check and ask myself; do these resonate with me? And what aspects of my course/work do I like the most? Those that are mentally engaging, or those that allow me use my hands?

WHAT MOTIVATES ME?

Motivational look.jpg

  1. What do I find myself doing in my spare time?
  2. What is one topic area/skill that I know more than most people in my circle?
  3. What are the top 3 things I have done so far in my career/course/business that I am proud of?
  4. Do I like to take my time and do some research?

UNDERSTANDING MY STRENGTHS AND SKILLS

Sell Your Skill.jpg

As Yewande mentioned in the YouTube video, your skills could be hard skills (Programming, Visual Design, Data mining, etc.), or soft skills (Leadership, Interpersonal, Presentation, etc.), and these skills could be transferred. You should want to know skills that come easily to you; which could be: Co-ordination and Planning skills, or, negotiating skills. You need to understand what easily comes to you and those skills you have developed over time.

Understanding your strengths and skills will help you understand what your roadmap will look like, and how you want to transition to tech., and how you can even sell yourself.

Your roadmap is about you and the opportunities you get, and how prepared you are for those opportunities.

REFERENCE

Credit to: Yewande Odumosu and YouTube.